Turkish Embassy in Athens

News from the Turkish Foreign Ministry

Press Release Regarding The Establishment Of A New Administrative Unit In Somalia , 25.06.2014

No: 209, 25 June 2014

We welcome the agreement reached between the relevant parties on 22 June 2014 to establish a new administrative unit comprising the Bay, Bakool and Lower Shabelle regions of the Federal Republic of Somalia.

Turkey will continue to support the formation of a federal structure to be agreed by all parties in Somali.